Imaginary landscape

imaginary-landscape-final


 

In class we got a project to create an imaginary landscape. So what I wanted to do was make something that looked completely alien, Like it could be on another planet. But I also wanted something different than what you’d normally find in space, something that looked more hostile and mysterious

To make it first I found a picture of a desert and removed the sky from it. Then I went online and found a galaxy and put it behind the desert as the sky. I then made adjustments to the colors of the picture and made everything look more red. To populate the world I added in pictures of a praying mantis and a worm hidden off the edge of the photo so it looks like the tentacle of something larger. The last thing I added to the picture was a photo of Pluto in the right area of the sky.

When I had my photo reviewed by classmates for critique a suggestion I got was to make the light brighter down the middle of the picture from the center of the galaxy. To do this I duplicated the desert layer, made it only a small area and raised the brightness slightly so it looks like a ray of light.

I think the project was a success. I was able to make something that looked completely alien. And because of the red the whole are looks a lot more hostile and mysterious, and the red galaxy looks a bit like a supernova because of the red color. The worm also looks like it’s part of something much bigger that’s hiding since it goes off the image.

This entry was posted in non time based and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

